Bad Luck

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

deepsix

Reaction score
I am new to the sport, I did my OW and AOW back to back. I have only got 11 dives under my belt, and I'm affaird that is all I'm going to get. :upset: On my 11th dive I got bent. The whole dive was bad from the start. Now that I think about it I know that I did a few things wrong on that dive, but I did stay with in the dive table limits plus I did have a dive computer. Lets blame the whole thing on inexperience.
Any way I'm not here to dwell on the past I'm more concerned about my future. I wish I knew then what I know now about DCS.
It has been about a month now and both of my legs are still numb. I have been to the hyperbaric chamber. 7 hours worth five one day two the next. No help, probably because it was 2 days after the dive. The kicker is the doctor is the one that told me I was border line go home and he would call me the next day.
I have been told that I have nerve damage and I'm still waiting to have tests done to find out how much nerve damage there is.
I would like to know how long this is going to last. Some people say I'm looking at six months others say weeks others say never.
Any way this is what I would like to know, and I have been told different things already.
1) If or when this all clears up can I dive again?
2) If this does not clear up and my legs stay numb can I dive at shallow depths 60 feet or less?
3) Whats the risk if I do?
4) Can I get bent easier now?
5) Does water temp play a factor I was in 43 degrees F