Becoming a technician

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
I am interested in taking classes to become a tech for scuba gear, repairing, rebuilding, maintenance of gear. I am an electrician and have worked in technical fields but enjoying being around diving so much that I want to see about taking some courses to be able to get a job in a shop and work on gear. Any leads on how to go about finding the course is appreciated. As to what I want to start with doesnt matter, regs, bcd's, tanks, repairing exsposure suits, again just want a starting point.

Thanks

As far as I know you have to be trained by each regulator manufacturer to be certified to service their regs, I'm not 100% sure about that though!

The repair of exposure suits (replacing drysuit seals, finding leaks, patching them, and patching wetsuits etc) is a more widely documented topic and can be studied online.

I'd start with three books from Airspeed Press, if you haven't already, to wit:
SCUBA Regulator Maintenance and Repair, Vance Harlow
The Oxygen Hacker's Companion, Vance Harlow
Wetsuit and Drysuit Maintenance and Repair, Steven Lindblom

As I understand it, most manufacturers want you to be associated with (generally meaning "on staff at") a shop before they'll let you attend the courses. Kind of a Catch-22 situation, and I've run into that wall myself. As much as I like my Sherwoods, my next regs will be from a company that won't force me to acquire parts via shady back-room dealing.