Blurry Parts in Photos

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

D_O_H

Contributor
Reaction score
I'm just getting started with underwater photography and am a little puzzled by a problem I've been having. Some (maybe 5%) of my images will be distorted in one or more of the corners or sides of the image. I don't think it's a depth of field/focus related, as the blurry part of the image is often the same distance from the lens as other things that come out clear and sharp.

Any idea what might be causing this? I'm hoping it's something I'm doing, rather than a defect with my setup, though I've never had this happen using the same camera on land. I'm shooting an Oly 8080 with a DS-125 strobe.

I've attached a few examples from my dive yesterday

Thanks in advance for any help!

--Scott

P.S. As I look at these, I notice the blurring seems to be occur when I'm shooting things fairly close up but I'm not in macro mode. This is the case with all but the last photo. Could this be causing my problem?

Attachments

• Monterey1.jpeg
    Monterey1.jpeg
    103.1 KB · Views: 82
  • Monterey2.jpeg
    Monterey2.jpeg
    87.7 KB · Views: 70
  • Monterey3.jpeg
    Monterey3.jpeg
    101.7 KB · Views: 61
  • Monterey4.jpeg
    Monterey4.jpeg
    109.8 KB · Views: 68
  • Monterey5.jpeg
    Monterey5.jpeg
    67.4 KB · Views: 68
D_O_H: