Cold Water?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Diveoahu

Registered
Reaction score
I'm new to California waters, coming from Hawaii's water, where my coldest dive was probably between 75-78 dregrees. I keep reading postings about "Cold Water". What is considered "Cold Water"? I haven't made any dives in California yet, so I don't know if these waters are considered "Cold". I know they are a lot colder than anything in Hawaii (by about 20 degrees) . I am thinking of getting a new reg, and a lot of emphesis is put on whether you dive cold water. Please enlighten me.

Cold is a relative term. In Canada, cold to me is anything under about 40F degress or so down to freezing (or colder). If you're referring to cold water regs, I would think that that would be referring to those regs that are less prone to freeze ups due to adiabatic cooling in cold environments (diaphram, sealed first stage, etc). I would think that you would have no problems in 50F water or warmer. I've only dove California once in late December, and the water was plenty warm (at least to me) in the high 50s.

cold water is a relative term, i guess. the key is, what protection are you going to use?

for me, in anything to 70 degrees, a 3 mil farmer john is fine. down to 50 degrees, i would dive a 7 mil suit or a 5 mil farmer. below 50 degrees, it would be dry suit time (i don't know, i've never used a dry suit. i just suspect strongly that it would not be pleasant for me to dive wet below 50 degress, being a wus who freezes easily).