Comparison of all agencies

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

rjvencken

Registered
Scuba Instructor
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
Being a PADI instructor I am sometimes asked how all those agencies compare and I don't have a decent answer and bluff my way through! And prospective students would like to know..

I'm not talking about the technical diving details that agency fanboys get excited over , meanwhile boring to death anyone with a life outside diving. What I'm looking for is a comparison for ALL agencies of their approaches to teaching and diving in a readable overview, not endless discussion as I found in many topic in this section.

There are two differences the way I see it. First has to do with their markets. PADI seems to cater to the recreational diver demographic, while NAUI seems to pander more to the working diver. SDI-I have no experience with this agency.