Diving in Strong Current or Downcurrent

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

gabyintheworld

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hello, everyone.

I'm headed to the Galapagos shortly and have two days of diving planned. I have some experience diving in current and I know some sites in Galapagos have strong currents and downcurrents, sometimes unexpectedly. Depending on dive instructor recommendation, I may dive at Gordon Rocks which is known for its currents. I have also read about three deaths since 2010 all related to sudden downcurrents overwhelming divers.

My question is: what worst-case scenarios should I prepare for and what are the best responses to those? I'm imaginging flooded mask, dropped regulator, and panic. I've read up on how to get out of a downcurrent. But still I want to be prepared as possible. Thanks!

Plans go right out the window when you get punched in the face. Lesson I learned in the academy..

Plans go right out the window when you get punched in the face. Lesson I learned in the academy..
Agree and disagree. The best athletes in the world practice for worst case scenarios. When Michael Phelps's goggles broke at the start of one of his Olympic races, he had practiced mentally for that exact situation over and over again so it didn't throw him and he won.

Hello, everyone.