Diving & Videography for a living

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

harang

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
Hi everybody,

First, I'm a newbie here and I'm amazed and lucky to find these posts. I was thinking of jumping in this new adventure either Instructor or maybe videography. Before I begin, asking a few questions, I want to clarify my goals. I don't expect to live a rich life... I'm not material at all. I have a background in multimedia production of management and thinking I could combine the two together.

A few questions;

Can a diver live a comfortable life as an underwater videographer?
Is there a market out there for underwater videographers?

Any information would be greatly appreciated

Thanks

I take it you speak from personal experience.

It all depends on location and to what degree! You have to be multi-talented and be willing to go without a lot of time or money! Some do it on islands with multi-Resorts where you can dive and video each day for large groups and individuals! You have to do a lot of Camera editing and have stock footage as well, edit fast and dirty, throw it together sell it for 60.00 to 75.00 dollars and move on to the next one! You can teach as well! You will never git rich in any form this way!