Drysuit - Wearing In Period?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

brizzolatti

Contributor
Reaction score
Hello folks. I've gone and done it - bought my first drysuit. This is getting way serious now! I got a Northern Diver Divemaster after much pondering. Haven't been in the water with it yet but have had it on in the house (!). Until recently, all my diving was in a 3mm shortie (front zip) but now I want to dive in the UK more frequently and regularly. The drysuit obviously feels very diffferent to what I have been used to: it is heavier, it is enclosed, it is tighter at the neck. Plus wearing a hood feels a bit strange to me.

So my question is - is there a wearing in period for drysuits of a few dives before they start to feel like a second skin? You know, like wearing in a pair of shoes? Or is it just a case of getting used to them?

I will know soon enough because I will be diving at the weekend but I am curious about any experience others have had. This is not so much about technique of using a drysuit but of feel.

Yes...diving dry is a very different experience (one I happen to prefer). After a few dives, you'll get it under control.

If you haven't already, please take a drysuit class. They will cover a lot of important information that could save your life.

Its never going to feel like a second skin, but yes, you'll get used to the feel. Once I'm in the water, mine pretty well disappears except for dealing with the squeeze.

MD