flying in unpressurized aircraft after diving

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

rs86

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
Hey everybody,

I live on an island that can only be reached by small twin otter airplane with a non pressurized cabin cruising at 3,300 ft. It takes about 20 mins to get to the next island.

Many people who dive here think that it's okay for them to make a dive just hours before flying, because "the plane doesn't fly that high."

I am not an expert, but I've calculated (please correct me if I'm wrong) that during these flights, people are exposed to a pressure of about 0.9 atm, while in a pressurized aircraft people are exposed to pressure about the equivalent of 8,000 feet altitude, or about 0.77 atm.

Even though the unpressurized plane doesn't fly that high, passengers (people who dove just a few hours before) experience a decline in ambient pressure, which means a higher risk of DCS.

Does anybody know if this small decline would significantly contribute to a higher risk of DCS? If so, does anybody know of any studies that have looked into this?

Many people ask me if it's okay to hop on the small plane just after a dive. I always tell them it's not the smartest idea. Others tell them it's no problem. I would like to back my advice up with some scientific proof.

Thanks very much for any information!

Here is the NOAA ascent to altitude table. http://www.ndc.noaa.gov/pdfs/AscentToAltitudeTable.pdf