Got Lift? And other gear questions.

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Dirty-Dog

Frequently Censored
ScubaBoard Supporter
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
As I have said before, I am extremely new to SCUBA. My wife and I did a resort course and a whopping 8 OW dives, all in Cancun. But that was enough to trigger an addiction. We've done the PADI eLearning and will be finishing our OW course in Cancun this May (90 days from this post...). Sadly, dive opportunities are lacking here in Colorado, so we seem destined to be vacation divers (bottom of the food chain, I know...). We'll just have to win the lottery so we can spend more time on vacation. :D

I'm making some gear purchases, but since we are poor nurses, not rich doctors, we're being cautious and trying to avoid buyers remorse. So far, I've bought us:
Henderson 5mm exposure suits and boots.
Scuba Pro Jet fins with the spring straps.
St Moritz Momentum dive watches (I don't know nearly enough to buy a comp yet...)
EMT Shears (we have these laying all over the place...)
Titanium dive tools (No, they're not Rambo-sized...)
Masks (Low profile, with Rx lenses in mine)
Snorkels
PADI eDRP

So, that seems to be all the "cheap" stuff. Anything else I need to think about? Or any of it I'm going to regret? Now I'm trying to learn enough about the more expensive gear to make sensible choices.

We're convinced that the BP/W is the way to go. But I am confused by the lift ratings on the wings. How do you decide how much lift is needed?