Halcyon cinch and removal in emergency

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Jn100

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hi all, can someone help with this question. Ive got a halcyon eclipse bpw with the cinch system, Im new to diving and so far have only been in the pool with my club and am a novice. Anyhow, a few people at my club are concerned that the one piece harness of the cinch system makes it very difficult for someone else to remove the bpw in an emergency, as it has no breaks. What is a worthy counter argument against this opinion, anyone ??

Also, for anyone who is using the Halcyon cinch, how easy/difficult do you find it (in a training situation) to loosen and remove the bpw while underwater ?? I have not tried this exercise yet but would expect you need to undo the belt buckle and crotch strap first before pulling the shoulder straps up to loosen the harness !

I mentioned to my club trainer that I could doctor the cinch harness add some pinch releases, but the response was not favourable as he explained doing so would effectively ruin the cinch and its design/purpose. So this has left me in a bit of a dilemma, and got me thinking why I bought the thing in the first place, which is another question entirely.

I suppose what im asking is this, is the cinch system safe for novice divers ??

Thanks in advance for any response

I don't have one personally but a good dive buddy of mine does.