Help me understand this...

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Toadie

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
I've decided to pursue my divemaster cert... I'm paying x amount for the course, x amount for the books, and I understand I'm about to become an instructor slave. I'm cool with that.... but now I'm being told that as long as I'm a DM student, when I'm assisting with pool work, I have to pay my own pool fees? Now, it's only six bucks per time but....is that odd? I understand that I"m the student on one hand but if I'm the student then how can I assist in the course?

Am I being silly?

That doesn't sound right. When I did my DM I was never told to pay for pool time. I noticed you're in the Denver area. Don't know who you're doing this with but I did mine with A1 and they were always very accommodating. Does the store have a pool on premises or do they rent a community pool? That could be the reason.

Toadie:
I've decided to pursue my divemaster cert... I'm paying x amount for the course, x amount for the books, and I understand I'm about to become an instructor slave. I'm cool with that.... but now I'm being told that as long as I'm a DM student, when I'm assisting with pool work, I have to pay my own pool fees? Now, it's only six bucks per time but....is that odd? I understand that I"m the student on one hand but if I'm the student then how can I assist in the course?

Am I being silly?