hoods and hair!

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

wackodacko

Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
Hi everyone! im new to diving and will be equip shopping this weekend.. (driving 3 hours to get to an online store! hehe!) anyway, i was wondering for those of you with long hair.. do you wear it in a ponytail inside your hood, or do you just let it loose? ive been having hair-pulling problems with my mask strap in the pool, but since i will be wearing a hood now, it will be outside the hood and i dont need that neoprene cover? What do you think? my head hurts from my hair getting pulled out.. hope it doesnt feel like that inside a hood!! =-) :confused: :cool:

Since your new to diving I'm going to assume your diving wet. In that case, you'll definately want your hair inside the hood/wetsuit. I have a 2 piece, and I put my hood on before pulling up my farmer john, so I can tuck it in there before I pull on my jacket. That makes it fairly easy to make sure the hood is completely tucked in your wetsuit.

If your hood isn't completely tucked in whilst diving in New England, you'll know it pretty quick, as it will feel like someone is slicing your back with icicles! :cold: Before I started putting my hood on first, I was trying to tuck it in after... which inevitably caused me to have to tuck more when I felt where the gap was once in the water!