How to choose a good starter BCD

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

jbennett4001

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
Hello, I am a relatively new diver (33 dives) and am starting to gather gear so that I can do more diving in my local area which is near San Francisco and will likely be doing most of my dives in Monterey, CA. I am looking for a jacket style BCD that fits my skill level and is not too expensive (~$500) because I am a college student. Any brands specifically I should be looking for? What features would be considered a necessity for a starter BCD?

No such thing as a starter BC. A BC will last you a very long time if you take care of it.

Have you tried all three styles? If not try a back inflate and a bpw. Give each a few dives and go with the style you find most comfortable.

For starters, Monterey think stainless back plate, give a little more info about what you have, exposure protection etc. and we can go from there.

Are you dead set on a jacket-style BCD? Have you tried back inflate BCDs and backplate + wings?

If you are willing to explore BPWs, then DGX has a set up that is $399 (+$25 if you go stainless steel), solidly under your $500 budget.

As @formernuke said, there isn't really "beginner" gear in this hobby.... There's just what you get first, and it should serve you for a very long time. On the BCD topic, here's something I've said on it in many threads: