Likelite AF35 with Canon camera and housing

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

lazydaysdiver

Registered
Reaction score
way too far from the ocean, working on it.
# of dives
50 - 99
I have a Canon Powershot A650 IS with Canon housing and am looking for a strobe. My price range is about $500 but can go higher, you have to start somewhere. I'm totally new to UW and above water photography and really need advice. Like does my camera even have a preflash?

So, I was searching the threads and didn't find much about the Ikelite AF 35. Has anyone tried it? like it, so so? Has anyone tried it with this camera and housing? Would love to hear feedback. Also, if someone has other ideas on different stobes that you have tried and like (or ones to stay a way from) I'd love to hear from you too.

Thanks, Peace, Love and Scuba

lazydays
I use Inon D2000 type 3 for my G9 - it is very compact great strobe at reasonable price with sufficient power (much more powerfull than AF35) for makro. Its STTL and auto function work well although I prefer in manual mode. This strobe and FO syn will cost around USD 500 excluding arm and tray. Inon also just recently released their S2000, smaller size, more sensitive; but no focus light; cost slightly lower than D2000.