NEED ADVICE buying a drysuit

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

FJUK1

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
None - Not Certified
Hi,

I am a complete beginner, about to start my open water dives for BSAC Ocean Diver. Due to complicated reasons with local dive shops it's most likely that I will have to purchase my own drysuit to be able to perform these. I also have to buy this within the next day or two (unless i want to use FB marketplace or similar options). My local dive shop is moving/closing and I have the opportunity tomorrow to try on a drysuit, as well as purchase one. I am willing to spend upwards of 700GBP on this (the shop is selling their previously rented out constantly dry suits), I was wondering if this budget it okay for a drysuit thats been used alot for rental purposes, but is in good condition, and any advice as to whether this will have good resale value. I plan to lose some weight and buy a top of the line drysuit later down the line when i have completed my certification.

What is the financial risk of buying a drysuit before ever diving in open water. Don't mind losing a couple hundred quid or so if for some reason I give this up (I very much don't plan to) but it is a bit of a commitment to buy this after just under 4HRS in the pool.

Any advice appreciated!