new aqua-lung mistral

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

jcarpini

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
Any body out there try the new mistral? I dive a Royal Aquamaster. but I am considering the new mistral because I can attach a din to the titan 1st stage and use it on my HP tanks. just wondering how it really compairs and performs

I have no personal experience with the new Mistral, but the reviews I've read by those who have dived it indicate that they were very disappointed in it.

Same here, but no one I know of likes it. Do yourself a favor and get a Phoenix or the MK-3. Either are a much better solution, can handle the pressure, give you the ports you want and you keep the classic looks of the RAM/DA

I don't own a new Mistral, but I have dove one. For starters I personally didn't care for the mouth piece arrangement. The Spiro Mistral and the Polish Kaiman I own accomplish the same adjustability in a smaller, more comfortable, yet just as effiecient package. Heck, the Hope Page mouth piece I have on my Healthways Scuba is better and breaths just as well. If your Royal has the new silicone diaphragm and mouth piece valves it will perform a lot better then the new Mistral too. Herman is quite correct. Going the Phoenix or the new MK3 would be a much better option. I cannot comment on a DIN conversion for either reg, but I know they can both handle 3500 psi service. I own both the Phoenix and the MK3 and they both rock, IMHO.