Noob BCD question

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

guitar_lord

Registered
Reaction score
Hey everyone...

Im looking at buying a BCD. Im brand new in the sport of scuba and I had some questions

What is the difference between a regular BCD and a BP/W?
(I see everyone talking about BP/W and I have no idea what it is)

if somone could help a poor noob out Id appreciate it.
Thanks - Brian :14:

There have literally dozens of threads regarding that comparison. Just scroll through a few pages in this forum and you're bound to find at least one...

i dont want to start a war but why do people get mad at people starting a same thread whats the big deal its nice to see different threads on this type of thing so other people can read about different products instead of just having like 2 threads and making people find them and reading what people have to say on like one but i could be talking out of my *** again.

Ive been looking through the BCD threads for the last hour while being at work and I see lots with BP/W in them, but no definition

BP/W = Backplate & Wing

Basicly, a bp/wing is a modular system composed of a metal plate that's bent so it's comfortable and bolts don't jab you in the back when it's assembled, a BC gas bladder that gets sandwiched between your tank and the plate, and a harness that holds the rig securely to the diver.