Question about lights for GoPro

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Grocio

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
Hi there,

I'm a newbie in underwater videography in general and in GoPro in particular. Last month I bougth a GoPro and now I'd like to get a couple of lights for it. My question is about lights.

The widest angle of coverage of GoPro is 170 degrees, according to the camera specifications. So I concluded that I should get two lights having an angle of coverage of 110 degrees each, since in the European market I've only found lights having 80 or 110 degrees of angle of coverage.

Considering my budget limitations, I've found two lights that may suit my needs: the i-Torch Venusian III (700 lumen) and the i-Torch Video Pro5 + (1600 lumen). Their burn time is similar (60 minutes). However, and unsurprizingly, the Video Pro5 + is more expensive than the Venusian (323 euro the former, 200 euro the latter). Since I have to buy two lights, the difference in price would amount to about 300 dollars. My question is: for a newbie like me, would the Venusian be good enough, or should I better invest the extra money in a light which is in principle better, that is the Video Pro5 +?

I thank you very much in advance for your replies.

I posted some times ago a thread on my Archon lights, that you can find here: http://www.scubaboard.com/forums/gopro-video/449793-end-got-everything.html

I don't know if the price is still the same now than at this time (130$ each for 1400lum video lights).