Recommend something w/ an easier kick

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Down_Bubble

Registered
Reaction score
Newbie here, with a problem.

I've been diving with some old Idea 3 fins that I got from my brother for about 2 years, and every time I do, my feet hurt like hell. IMO, it's way too hard to kick with those things, I usually get leg cramps just trying to keep up with buddies.

I do a bit more free diving than SCUBA, and I like to poke around crevices and rocks, so I'd like something that I can maneuver fairly easily.

More importantly though, I want something that WON'T HURT, so I guess I'm looking for a softer fin.

Have other people had problems with these fins, or am I just a pansy? :dork2:

ah. let me re-phrase.

Newbie WITH A BUDGET here, looking for fins. Preferably something in the 100-200 dollar range.

I am not trying to start a fight, but split fins will take care of the cramps and you can definitely find them within your budget.

yes, I already had my sights set on some split fins, But I thought I might ask people with more experience.

I've heard (browsing these forums) that people have problems with maneuverability when employing split fins. What's the deal (more specifically: why?)?

Try a pair of Mares Planar Avantis. They were my first pair of fins and lasted 17 yrs. To me they're easy kicking and maneuverable as I used them to hunt lobsters which means up, down, and around walls, crevices, etc. They're cheap on eBay too.