Recommendations por favor on equip

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

diffenc

New
Reaction score
Here's the situation - I just received my divemaster certification, and starting towards my assistant instructor cert. So far, I've been able to borrow equipment. I'm located in Oklahoma, so all of my dives (so far) are fresh water lakes. This also means I have no local dive shops. The closest shops are an hour away and have very limited selection.

Here's what I'm considering:

Fins - I've been using borrowed fins for 2 years, time to stop leeching. Looking at the Aeris Velocity ($55 is easy to swallow) or ScubaPro Twin Speeds and possibly the Twin Jets. Also looked at the Quattro and Space Frog. Recommendations?

BCD - I want a BCD with weight integration, and would prefer to stay with Mares, Cressi, or ScubaPro since they would be the easiest to get serviced (or replaced) in the nearest city. Anyone tried the Cressi BCDs?

Also need a solid set of instruments. Thinking of sticking to ScubaPro reg and octopus.

I know it's not anyones recommendation to buy without trying, but there is simply not much opportunity to try. I will probably end up getting everything from LeisurePro or DiveInn. (I'm also on a bit of a budget, but isn't everyone these days?)

Thanks in advance!

You're a DM, working on AI and you don't own any dive equipment :confused:

And you don't even know what fins to buy :confused: :confused:

Be nice...be nice...if you can't say anything nic

:whoa:

diffenc once bubbled...

[snip]