Regulator advice- Nitrox

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Bookgrl

Reaction score
I'm new to diving- only 7 dives since I've been certified- but it really is addictive!! I've been researching gear and seriously considering buying a regulator before my next dive vacation. There a great posts and some terrific advice on this board and I've checked out the Rodale gear reviews.... But I have one question I just haven't been able to find an answer to. One article I found during my research seemed to imply- not just that you need a regulator that can handle Nitrox if you plan to dive with Nitrox (that much makes sense to me) but that it should be dedicated to Nitrox. In otherwords if I bought a regulator that can handle either and I use it for air now and then take a nitrox class later- I won't be able to use the same regulator. Is that really true???

Most reg manufacturers say that you can use the regs "off the shelf" for up to EAN40, which will be any recreational use of nitrox. If you get into diving where you have higher o2... ie. 100% o2 for a deco bottle, then you'll want to 'dedicate' the reg you'll be using for that mix.

If your reg will never see higher than 40% o2, then you're ok using it for air.

raxafarian once bubbled...
If you get into diving where you have higher o2... ie. 100% o2 for a deco bottle, then you'll want to 'dedicate' the reg you'll be using for that mix.