regulator question

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

M.D.

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
Hey everyone,
I'm very new to diving, in fact my first OW check dive is on Thursday. I recently bought a BC and reg kit and was practicing in my pool today. I geared up and jumped in, but I failed to put enough air in my BC and sank down a few feet. At this point my reg started releasing air like crazy and I lost about 500 psi before I surfaced. Is that what free-flow is? I don't recall going over that in class, and I haven't had a chance to talk to the LDS owner to ask him. The gear is all brand new, and everything seemed to be hooked up alright. I'm not exactly sure why that happened. The regulator in question is a Genesis Atlas. There's a pre-dive/dive switch on it and it was in the dive position. Thoughts/suggestions? Thanks.

Mike

yup, that's exactly what a free flow is

usually, you can cure it by turning the reg "face down" so that the valve faces
down. if that doesn't do it, tapping the mouthpiece towards the middle can do it.
finally, you can "slap" the back of the reg with your hand, or hold the reg in one
hand and "whack it" (gently) into your other hand

hopefully one of those will take care of the problem

M.D.:
Is that what free-flow is? I don't recall going over that in class

Mike