Renting wet suits

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

scSCUBA

Reaction score
Is there any place in Charleston or nearby where you can rent a 5 or 7mm suit? I'm planning on buying a 3mm, but since we are approaching fall/winter, when I dive I'll probably need a thicker suit. Don't really see the need to buy one just yet. As a newbie, I'd want to get other stuff first, bc/reg....

Personally I would make the expenditure. You never know who rented the suit before you and what they might have done in it.

It's like this knew ad for some soap product where this group of garden lovers gets on a bus for a garden tour then you see the sign on the front of the bus being changed to garden tours and the sign that was there before hand was a nudist tour. Then it ends you never know how clean you truely are.:rolleyes:

I agree, that the expenditure for an exposure suit of your own is well worth the cost. Our LDS rents 7mm out but the condition of them leaves a little to be desired. They have been around for a while. After I wore one for OW, I immediately went and purchased my own.

I have an assortment of wet suit coverage, 7mm/5mm Full Henderson hyperstretch, 7mm hood, two 3mm full suits, one shortie, two 1.5 suits, a 0.5 skin and a lycra skin. (The reason I have two of some is that I have lost 25 pounds and the lighter weight suits stretched too much, especially if I wear them on repeat dives they seem to get bigger and they sag, in places and the legs balloon up with water.