Scubapro Second Stage Hose Replacement

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

DiveDay

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
I'm a complete newbie and just purchased my first regulator set, a Scubapro Mk 17 Evo / G260 / R195.

I would like to be able to replace the factory hoses eventually without relying on a shop.

Scubapro uses special splined nuts on both the regulator and the hose. I understand they can be removed with pliers, but I do not want to mar new equipment, so I've found three options to remove them properly:

1) Scubapro Universal Tool
2) Pandora Multi Tool
3) Scubatools "Just a wrench"

I've watched Alec Peirce's video on how to do this, at 10:50 he recommends using two crescent wrenches, one against the regulator body and one for the hose to make sure that the regulator is not damaged when torquing the nut on the hose.

Since Scubapro uses splined nuts on both sides, do I need two spline wrenches to remove the hoses safely?

Thanks for the help!

you can wrap the hose in tape or use a thin ish piece of rubber before you grab them with channel locks. In either instance you shouldn't be removing the hoses often, nor should they be that tight so marring them the first time isn't that big of a deal if you don't want to buy the tool.

Yes, you would need 2 tools.

or you can employ a hack like tbone suggests above.

My preference is to use the correct tool for the job, I hate adjustable wrenches and channel lock pliers because they tend to make a mess out of things unless one is very careful.

-Z