Shallow in Cozumel?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

jbmooney

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
Hi all -

I'm considering taking my wife and daughter to Cozumel in mid-March for some diving. I've never been before myself, and I have two questions for you all. While I'm sure the answers are on the board somewhere, I haven't found them. So, with apologies in advance for covering old ground;

1 - I'm a relative noob, and while I have an AOW card and a couple of dives deeper than 60', I'm happier shallower for the moment. Also, my wife and daughter are less experienced than I (daughter just got certified), and shallow is important for them. Is shallow available in Coz? I've heard the reef wall is 60-100' down - is that right? Do you think Coz is a good choice for newbies who aren't looking to.dive deep?

2 - I don't need to tell anyone it's been a cold winter in the USA, but how has that affected water and air temps on the Yucatan? What would you expect temps to be around St. Patrick's Day?

Thanks in advance for your thoughts...