stage vs deco bottles? Newb questions

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

naedward81

Registered
Reaction score
Ok, I'm a newb here and am trying to learn all that I can. I have read, here and on websites, about stage bottles and deco bottles. What is the difference between the two? Is it the same as a pony? If not, then whats a pony? Thanks in advance for any responses.

ok, well the way I see a pony, you use it for emergencies only. A stage you use to extend your bottom time, and a deco bottle you use to accelerate your decompression schedule. You can use the same bottle and rigging and regulator for all 3 purposes.

I hope that helps.

JIm

A stage bottle is used to either give you more time underwater or to get you to a certain point in your dive before switching to back gas. Typically I use a stage bottle to give me more time. I will breathe 1/3 of the starting pressure, drop the bottle and continue the dive on my back gas, breathing 1/3 of that. I turn the dive and pick up my stage bottle on the way back out. You can also use a stage bottle with a different mix to get you to a certain point such as in a cave system like Peacock III. Many divers will dive 32% in their stage bottle back to the Hendley's Castle jump, drop the bottle and move to their back gas, which is trimix (Hendley's Castle bottoms out in the 180' depth range).