Trip Report - Zanzibar (Stone Town and Mnemba)

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Marvelle

Registered
Reaction score
Hi, as I'm a novice diver my trip report won't be that in-depth but a few things I've discovered in Zanzibar:

1) diving off Stone Town, while not ideal, had decent marine life (small) and had much more personality than the diving off the northeast (matemwe, I think but we dove the Mnemba Atoll). You get the samosa, chipati bread, mango/orange lunch and something about departing and arriving at Stone Town is very visually appealing. Not a lot of people (they're all diving up north).

I took One Ocean divers, one of the main shops. They are located right across the alley from Livingstone's - the most famous bar in Zanzibar (Livingstone's former house where he planned his last expedition into Africa). I stayed at the Al Johari in the casbah area of Stone Town and the Tembo Hotel, which is around the corner from One Ocean.

They were fine - a Brazilian guy and UK woman run the place. We heard good things about Bahari Divers, which is literally around the corner. I had initially scheduled with Bahari but found One Ocean first and liked their shop and attitude. So, I think you're fine with either. We loved the dhow that One Ocean uses.