What's a trust me dive?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Porkfried

Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
Simple question really, I'm new to diving and have head the term "trust me" dive and don't know that it is.

simple answer: any portion of a dive (pre, during, or post) where you do not have (1) understanding, (2) input, (3) equal say in what is going on, outside of the controlled training realm.

essentially, its putting it in someone else's hands to manage

Last edited:
It is when the leader of the dive (DM or whomever) plans a dive that is beyond your current skill or confidence level and expects/encourages you to tag along. "You'll be ok." That is a "trust me dive" and one to be avoided. If the dive leader tells you the plan is to descend to a depth deeper than you are trained for or comfortable with, if the dive leader tells you that you will be going through some tunnels or other overheads you are not trained or comfortable with, SPEAK UP and tell them you will NOT be doing that dive. Do not put yourself in danger at the whim of someone else. If you are certified, you are perfectly capable of planning and executing your own dive plan. No body loves you like you do! :wink: