Where to go, what to wear?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

sup

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
I'm a relative newb to diving and am looking for the right operation, hotel, and other information for a dive trip to Cozumel in December. I'll be going by myself and either need to find a dive op that can accommodate beginners such as myself, but would also like to find an op that has gear valet service, as I don't relish the idea of trudging my gear back and forth to my room. I'd also need to rent gear for the week.

As for a hotel, I'm not all that picky about bed hardness, etc., but I would like to find a place where people congregate instead of staying in their rooms - i.e. not a suite-centric hotel - since I will be going alone. My ideal situation would be to find a hotel with an in-house dive op that would suit all my diving needs. Bonus points if the dive op comes back to the hotel for surface intervals.

I am assuming that while diving in December in Cozumel, I will need a wetsuit to stay warm. What is the general recommendation on this? 3mm? 5mm? I'm usually cold on land, but I actually seem to do much better in the water, so I would probably go with whatever most people use. I'm grossed out by the idea of other people peeing in a wetsuit and not real keen on a rental, so I will likely buy this before I go. Also, what will I need to wear on the boat before/between/after dives?