Which Oly camera is best for a newbie ?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

agnies03

Registered
Reaction score
Need help! I'm new to diving and never had an Oly camera.. I'm interested in buying a decent and affordable one (as I'm not ready and qualified for the high end stuff) from ebay or elsewhere, currently hesitating between Stylus (400, 410) or a C-5000. Thinking about an Oly housing to start with.

I've never done underwater photography and I'm still quite lost with all the technical terms; read some great posts here but would like some opinions regarding the stylus vs the c-series considering that I'd like a decent quality and easy to use camera but that would last for a while, and that would be used mostly in the Caribbean (Cozumel, Bonaire, Honduras...), giving decent pics with the flash since I cannot afford a strobe yet.
As for the Oly housings, can all the functions be adjusted on the camera underwater, and can a flooding guarantee be purchased ? I'm really afraid that it'll flood; what's the best way to prevent it and to do maintenance on housings ? Sorry for my ignorance here.

Thanks a lot in advance !

I think you first need to define you budget and price point and then research the camera's in that range.