why analog?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

scuberd

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Reaction score
# of dives
5000 - ∞
Let me preface this by saying I have no tech experience, but I am now acquiring my gear and diving with it before getting into technical diving.

My question is this: I just bought a Suunto vyper, and already have a cobra. Would the cobra be a good substitute for an analog SPG?

I know that it is as prone to failure as any electronic device, but it is far more accurate than a traditional SPG, and it is a redundant depth gauge and timing device without adding another piece of equipment.

Is this configuration appropriate for tech (i.e. extended range and mixed gas)?
Also is it DIR? why or why not?

here is info on the comps.
http://www.aqualung.com/products/cobra.html
http://www.aqualung.com/products/vyper.html

thanks

I have no idea bout the DIR stuff man, but if your cobra was already considered appropriate, I would imagine that there is no reason a suunto vyper can't be additional backup.

The digital gauges may give you a readout to more significant figures than you can interpret an analog gauge, but how important is that to a diver?

My husband and I did a little test a while back, comparing on all of our tanks the readouts of his Cobra with my ability to read my SPG. The results were interesting -- There was surprisingly little difference between the two.