BCD and weak left hand :(

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

jameshalluk

Registered
Reaction score
Hi All :),
I am new to diving.
I wanted to do OW but I have a problem with the weak fingers on my left hand.
I can't operate the power inflator with my left hand, using the left thumb.
So I find it difficult to inflate the BCD (standard jacket type).
Deflating is not a problem.

if you Have come across this issue before how did you manage to overcome this?
Thank you so much in advance.
James

Consider an Aqualung BCD with the I3 inflation system. It's a small lever mounted low on the left side that you push/pull to deflate/inflate. It also works the dump valves simultaneously on deflate. The i3 Control System - Aqua Lung US

It might be the easiest solution since they mount the I3 low on the left side pocket. Available on the Axiom I3 (jacket) or the Dimension I3 (back-inflate) Since it is non-standard you will want to demo it to any potential instabuddies - not only is there no standard hose inflator but the manual inflator hose is also retracted into a small pocket when not in use.ftr, I'm not an I3 fan - IMO it overcomplicates a simple device that has been used for decades. But in your case it makes sense.
Just know that all service/parts on the system is proprietary and thru an AL dealer only.

Some BCD models with a top right shoulder dump allow you to move the entire inflator assy. to that side - the mount is the same so you just unscrew both and change them.