First OW dive this weekend! getting nervous

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

viridian1

Registered
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I'm new to the world of diving. (The only time I've put on a scuba tank has been in a swimming pool.) I finished my NAUI classes about 3 weeks ago and will be going on my first open water dive this weekend (7/17/04) in Panama City, FL to complete my certification.

I must admit I’m pretty nervous. I had some trouble in the pool when I had to remove my mask, put it back on, and then clear it. Almost every time I got a nose full of water and began choking. Luckily, I was only in about 4 feet of water so all I had to do was stand up. But I’m terrified of having to perform this skill at 60 feet!! My instructor said he would let me do it at 15 feet since I’m so freaked out about it – which makes me feel a little better. I have been practicing some in my pool (without a tank or respirator) and found that if I hold my breath I do much better.

Anyway, I just wanted to say Hi to everyone and see if anyone had some advice for a first-timer about diving in general! I’ve read about people getting sick on the boat so I’m planning on taking some Dramamine – but any advice would be appreciated!