Inflator hose with built in rapid exhaust

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

sharkshooter76

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
I’ve been using a Hollis st35 for the last 2 years which only has 1 dump valve in the bottom left. theres been a few times I’ve had a hard time getting enough air out through my inflator hose that I’ve had to use a head down decent in order to get down. Is adding a rapid exhaust inflator hose have any down sides or Asking for trouble? typical diving application is Spearfishing with the occasional sight seeing your when wife decides to go.

If you’re flat in the water, going a little head down shouldn’t be a problem, but if you’re trying to descend, why wouldn’t you be so in the first place? Just do a little surface dive and descend while venting the OPV. You can always add a few kicks to move things along.

If you’re flat in the water, going a little head down shouldn’t be a problem, but if you’re trying to descend, why wouldn’t you be so in the first place? Just do a little surface dive and descend while venting the OPV. You can always add a few kicks to move things along.
When I'm spearfishing it's not a problem because it's always a back roll and immediately into a head down descent. It's when I'm doing recreational dives that I'm having issues because wife or standard random diver on a charter boat freaks out over head down descents for some reason.

Is adding a rapid exhaust inflator hose have any down sides or Asking for trouble?