Looking for a computer...help (also anyone know anything about the Oceanic OCL)

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

RobertLyndonDavis

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Greetings all,

Well I'm fairly new to diving but I love it (especially the underwater photography side of things) and I'm looking to start getting my own gear (starting with a computer) and doing a lot more diving in the future.

I've done a lot of research and reading on this board and every time I think I've decided which computer to get, I read something that changes my mind. So I wanted to get some expert opinions and see if I can finally work it out.

Firstly I'd like to spend under a thousand but thats not a hard and fast rule. Also I don't know about air integration. Initially I wanted it but the more I've read it seems maybe it's not that important since I'll have an SPG anyway as a back up. Seems like it can be unreliable and a pain to keep syncing computers with transmitter. Also I'm not sure how easy it to to use your own transmitter on rental first stages (or even if its possible).

One computer that has kind of caught my eye is the Oceanic OCL. I love its small form factor and ability to be a nice vacation watch when you're not in the water. Oddly though I can't find a single review of anyone using it on line. Maybe it's just too new for people to be using it.

Also I've seen some Suunto DXs on here second hand going pretty cheap which also seems like maybe a good idea but I'm not sure if buying second hand is such a good idea.