Suunto Vyper or Cressi Giotto?

Suunto Vyper or Cressi Giotto

• Total voters

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Carib_Diver

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hi All,

I am a fairly novice diver. I am basic and advanced open water certified and have done about 21 dives (all on air). I am looking to purchase a dive computer. Some of the primary functions I am looking at: ascent rate indicator (I know that all watches have this feature, I'm looking for a good one that people like), deep stop functionality, and conservatism. I am not looking to dive mixed gases anytime soon, but maybe in the distant future.

I have read a ton of articles and reviews on dive computers so far. I have narrowed my choices down to the Suunto Vyper and the Cressi Giotto.
Suunto vyper: I really like the ability to change the sampling rate on this one. Also it has a gauge mode. Suunto has been around forever and seems to have a great reputation and is time tested.
Cressi Giotto: I really like the deep stop option. I'm still not sure if the Suunto Vyper has one. Does anyone know? I couldn't find it in the Suunto vyper manual. The cons of the Giotto from what I have read so far is an extremely sensitive ascent rate beeper. Some say it is overly conservative. Lastly, it doesn't seem to have the same track record as Suunto, unless I'm mistaken.

My preference for the deep stop features is based on some research I did, such as this DAN report: https://www.diversalertnetwork.org/default.aspx?a=news&id=514