Where to do an OWD certificate

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

mejevika

New
Reaction score
Hi all! I'm a beginner, and planning to do my PADI Open Water certificate in Philippines next month, but can't seem to decide on the place. Would you go for Moalboal, Malapascua, Dumaguete/Dauin, Panglao or another place (in Visayas) entirely? I read that Malpascua is more interesting for AOW, and Moalboal is not as great as it was before the typhoon (anyone been recently?). Would appreciate any advice.

Honestly, during your OWD course you're busy with handling yourself and doing skills. I think there may be easier places to dive (less current, good visibility, something to see at shallow depths), but other than that, focus on the course rather than the location. Just my thoughts, obviously.

If diving anywhere other than near home I would recommend doing all the e-learning portion ahead of time (which you might already be planning to do, but it's worth mentioning). I can't speak to the Philippines other than it's universal the individual instructor will make or break the class, but I would also like to advocate for getting certified locally. Even if Germany has much colder waters than where you may anticipate usually diving there are plenty of lakes and quarries to learn in. Learning in colder waters/lower visibility will have you over prepared for future warm water/great visibility, but learning in the Philippines will not adequately prepare you to dive locally.