Suunto Zoop

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Cheeky

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
I'm looking at computers and am leaning towards the Zoop. I'm new to diving so don't want/need all the bells and whistles.........don't want to be "that" person on the boat that can't figure out their computer because it's too advanced for them. I realize I will eventually upgrade but just need an entry level for now. The pros and cons of this computer from users would be appreciated.

.............don't want to be "that" person on the boat that can't figure out their computer .......
1) Read manual
2) Take online tutorial ..... (ask your LDS for activation code)
3) Play with the computer simulators

[video=youtube;vuE9_sZs7lM]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vuE9_sZs7lM[/video]

Alberto (aka eDiver)

I've got a Gekko but AFAIK it's almost the same as the Zoop (I think they turned on the ability to download, which used to be a hack.) Suuntos are known to be more conservative than some other brands, some people see that as a good thing others as a bad thing.

Pros - it's a perfectly fine Nitrox computer and fairly inexpensive. You say you know you will eventually upgrade, but depending where your diving takes you you may discover you don't see a need.

Cons
- The user interface is OK, but has been around and not changed much in a long time. For various reasons I've always had Suuntos, but it seems some others have nicer UIs.