Newbie BP/W questions about weights

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Harley1962

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Divemaster
Reaction score
# of dives
I'm a Fish!
Please forgive my ignorance on this subject, but I just "inherited" my very first BP/W rig (a former student was diagnosed with severe asthma, so he gave me his BP/W), and I am totally new to this system as my previous BCD's were either Seaquest (Balance) or Zeagle (Ranger LTD).

So, the rig in question is a DSS (single tank) which I'm told is an excellent brand. However, as you will note from above I have worn weight-integrated BCD's over the past several years (unless demonstrating a weight belt skill to students) and I've really become used to the feeling of not wearing a weight belt.

If the stainless DSS BP weighs about 5lbs. and I would like an additional 5 lbs. but prefer NOT to put it on a belt, what are my options?
Looking at the DSS website I did not see any "pockets" specifically designed to attach onto the harness....or maybe I'm just not looking in the right place?

Alternatively, are there any after-market (or generic brand) weight pouches that have belt "loops" that can be attached to the belt of my DSS harness?

Sorry if these are foolish questions, but I'm in the dark on all this stuff.

Thanks in advance!

HB

HB,

If you are prone not to wear a weight belt, DIve Rite makes weight pockets that slide onto the waist belt. I use them and like them a lot. If you need more weight in back you can get small Cam strap weight pockets.