Building underwater attractions

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

1982shawn

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
So i have been very curious about what it takes to build underwater attractions. I have scoured the internet and have not been able to find anything. Does anyone know of any threads, articles, blogs, or videos related to this topic? I used to work as a machinist and have built some highly complex devices and structures in the past. I would like to approach my local quarry and see if i can build an donate an underwater attraction, but want to get some ideas from those that have done it in the past. My primary concern is footings, and current/moving water pressure resistance ie, I don't want the attraction to fall over(if that is even an issue in a quarry). I'm very interested to see what the community has to say about this idea.

I was thinking a modular design, something that can be broken down and easily reassembled on shore, in pieces on shore, or assembled completely underwater.

this could be fun

Attachments

• jungle-gym-dome-hi.png
    jungle-gym-dome-hi.png
    87 KB · Views: 585