BCD fit

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

mrx3000

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
I've been using a basic non-integrated Sherwood BCD for a few years (relatively rarely). It worked fine for a while, then I lost some weight (or may be just started noticing BCD fit some more).

At this point, while this BCD fits well around the chest, it seems to be "insecure" around my stomach/waist area. Either I have to close it too tight (and then its hard to breath) or it "rides up" towards the end of the dive as the tank becomes more buoyant.

I wonder if you've had to deal with something like that? How would you find a BCD that doesn't do that? Would weights integrated into BCD make it more likely to stay put?

I agree with Jim. Add a crotch strap and see how she rides. Most (not all) BCs have a little loop on the back for just that.

I'm going to assume you have the Sherwood Zodiac. You might want to try loosening the shoulder straps so the BC rides lower. That way you can tighten the cumberbun without suffocating yourself.

Unfortunately most Sherwood BC's are soft back and therefore lack a hard plastic backing to attach a crotch strap to. But there are ways to add a crotch strap even to these type of BC's.

Here's a thread with a few DIY crotch strap ideas. See post #14 and Post #21
http://www.scubaboard.com/forums/ad...my-bcd-if-did-not-come-one-2.html#post6258069