Do I need 2 depth gauges?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Scubasteve1982

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
Hello,

I've been diving for about 2 years now and recently purchased my very first Regulator and Octopus. Now I'm looking into purchasing a gauge console.

I know I need tank pressure, do I need a depth gauge??

I've been renting regulator setups from dive shops when I dive and they always have tank pressure and depth gauges. I still always use my computer to watch my depth. What do you think? What do you use?

Thanks!

If you have a dive computer, it functions as both a timing device and depth gauge. There's no need to have a backup analog depth gauge.
If your computer fails, plan a controlled ascent (including safety stop) with your buddy. Simple.
Have fun with your new gear...

Hello,

I've been diving for about 2 years now and recently purchased my very first Regulator and Octopus. Now I'm looking into purchasing a gauge console.

I know I need tank pressure, do I need a depth gauge??

I've been renting regulator setups from dive shops when I dive and they always have tank pressure and depth gauges. I still always use my computer to watch my depth. What do you think? What do you use?

Thanks!

It's not necessary, as bubbletrubble said.