First Time Traveling!!!

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

mrbeast1414

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hey guys,

SO this Saturday my family and I are going to Hawaii for the first time! I am super excited because not only do I get to hang out in Hawaii for a few days but also do some diving! My dives are already scheduled. I am doing the Manta Ray Night Dive and the 3 tank advanced (both in Kona, Hawaii).

But this is my first time traveling and carry scuba gear. I would prefer to bring my own gear because that is what I feel the most comfortable in. What gear should I bring? MAsk, reg, BCD? I only have a carry-on to carry gear or else I would bring it all :).

Any advice regarding bringing gear and also other tips about traveling and diving? What to look out for once I get there? Tips and tricks?

Thanks everyone!

Nick

P.S. It's with Jack's Diving Locker.

I'd stuff everything I could into my carry on and wear the rest of my gear as I boarded the plane, lol.

Seriously, a BC is the biggest piece of gear and fins take up a surprising amount of room. In my case, I wear a prescription mask so it would be my first priority. Then I would want my own reg and computer. Next would be my wetsuit. Then boots. Then fins if they fit in the carryon.

Don't forget your logbook.

And think about wearing your BC onto the plane. I've never done it but I've heard others claim they did. Just sayin'.

For tips and tricks, I'd suggest you surf over to the Hawaii section of ScubaBoard.

Have fun!