Florida Cave advice

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Aquatech3

Reaction score
Im just getting into cave diving and I am heading to Florida this winter. Any recomendations for sites and and any other advice I need to know?
Thanks

Aquatech3:
Im just getting into cave diving and I am heading to Florida this winter. Any recomendations for sites and and any other advice I need to know?
Thanks
Hi Aquatech3, welcome to SB! You can check www.floridacaves.com for a list of springs and sinks. (although, I'm not sure how up-to-date it is) Keep an eye on theFlorida Conch Divers forum. There's SBers all over the state, always diving somewhere, and waiting for you to join the fun! Dive right in, the water's fine :D Feel free to send me a PM (click on my user name) if you need help navigating the forums. Enjoy the board!

Thanks for the advice, I will check that out.

Aquatech3:
Thanks

What does "just getting into cave diving" mean? Are you cave cert? If so at what level? What part of FL are you visiting?

First bit of advice - take a cavern course. Then dive the caverns for a while. Ask your instructor what caverns are good to dive. Once you've done that a while, take Intro or Basic. Then dive to that limitation for a while. Again, ask your instructor for advice. That's what your instructor is there for. Once you've done that, take the full cave course. When you complete that, ask your question again.