Help with buying my first regulator

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

cindysoo

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
Hey all, hope you can help me as I am completely new to this. I've tried to read through some of the posts on here but there are just so many threads that I'm starting to get confused.

I dive only warm water and will probably dive only warm water. Maybe will try diving in Canada (BC) next year. I currently live in HK but will move back to Canada in the new year 2011. I'm a recreational diver only -- about 40 dives under my belt.

I will do a liveaboard to Komodo in less than 2 weeks so would like to get a regulator before then :)

I've always rented and hated the rental regulators because:
1) mouthpiece is too large and hurts mouth
2) tube on some rentals tilt the mouth part which is very uncomfortable

Looking for:
1) a Ladies regulator (if there is such a thing)
2) balanced is better (I hear.. why I have no idea!)
3) a smooth easy breath
4) will dive (forgive the pun) into underwater photography and video photography soon so I have heard that a regulator that produces less bubbles (?) is optimum?
5) durable that will last forever (I don't want to have to buy a new regulator unless I decided to do Tech diving or something much more advanced). Would mid to advanced level regulator be good?

I hope you can help...

Thank you!

P.S.