I need basic info on buying a regulator

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

dulcediver

Reaction score
I have been diving for about 6 months and I am going on a live-aboard cruise in November. I am interested in buying a regulator.

I have read several magazine articles and reviews, but they seem to assume you know what you are looking for, when I don't even know what a lot of it means.

I will mostly be diving in tropical areas. The Sea of Cortez is only a few hours drive from where I live, and I like to vacation in warm places. And at this point in time, I have no interest in cold-water activities.

I don't want to spend a ton of money and start at the top of the line, but I don't want to be cheap when it comes to something this important.

I know most of you are going to be brand loyal, and that's great, but what I would really like to hear is what kinds of options/features I should look for, how to evaluate whether those options are good for me, and what things are really just expensive unnecessary frills. Or referrals to reading material I can get this info from.

Oh yeah, and this seems like a really stupid question, but when you buy a "regulator" does that mean just the second stage, or do they come with a first stage and octopus? I do have an air-integrated computer if that matters.

(I am going to post this under regulators as well, in case you see it duplicated.)

Thanks for your insight.

Your second question first.