NAUI Instructor Getting Back Into Diving

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

DeadCactus

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
Hello all,

I was a newbie NAUI certified instructor for about a year and a DM for half a year before that. Then life and a change in geography got in the way and my diving came to a halt. My membership expired back in 2009 and that's around the last time I dove.

Anyway, things have changed again and I have hopes of getting back into diving soon. Eventually I'd like to get back into teaching, though for now the focus is getting back into being a proficient diver.

Looking ahead though, I'm having a hard time finding out what the process would be to be able to teach or DM again. I would think there's more to it after two years than just paying my dues/insurance and submitting the form?

I'm also trying to figure out the best route for returning to being a competent instructor. My current plan is to focus on getting some new dives under my belt, getting my certification back, and then volunteering to assist an instructor more up to date on their skills. Does that seem reasonable?

Thank you for any input.

-DC

Pretty much all it takes is to show proof of insurance and get a physical exam ... and pay your membership dues, of course.

I took a year off between July 2009 and June 2010 and it was rather simple to get back into it.

My best advice would be to contact NAUI HQ and talk to someone in their training department.