Need mask help!

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

rhodges

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
Hey everyone, I just finished my OW this weekend. LDS organized a trip to Blue Grotto/Crystal River, i had a blast. Anyways to the problem. I have a Scubapro Frameless mask which i have cleaned numerous times with colgate toothpaste and sea buff yet it continues to fog up on me steadily. I guess in the grand scheme of things its not a total disaster i am a pro at mask clearing by now :) But what can i do to stop this? I have literally scrubbed this thing like 10 times! Any help would be greatly appreciated. In the mean time i'll be waiting on the water around here (S.C.) to warm up a bit.

just scrubbing it doesn't make the fog go away.

so you did the toothpaste.....great, dont need to do it anymore, that just takes a film off the mask.

What you want to do prior to each dive is do one of the following few things: you can spit in your mask and wipe it around covering the entire glass then rinse with water just before entering the water. The other is the same using a bit of a soapy mixture instead of spit. The last is using a store bought anti fog again on the glass wiped around and rinsed just prior to getting in the water.

I use spit, its worked for a few hundred dives.
My wife uses the anti fog and worked for her for several hundred dives