Question about rinsing the reg

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

mislav

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Reaction score
# of dives
Ok, I admit I'm not a huge expert on maintenance and servicing my own gear. I always leave this to pros, but - there is a question I would like to get an answer to:

Post-dive, when you rinse your gear, is it ok to sink the first stage in the fresh water (with dust cap in place of course) or should we leave the first stage out?

As it is, I normally sink my reg and even after years of use I haven't seen any damage done to it.

Im no expert either but I soak mine as well.Just dont push the purge button without the reg being pressurized or water can travel into the 1st stage.

It's OK to soak the 1st stage with the dust cap in place. With either a piston on diaphragm regulator the main seat is isolated from the ambient by at least one o-ring or diaphragm so it is highly unlikely that any of the rise water will get back into the dry parts of the reg. All regs benefit from a good rise but especially with with piston reg it is important to get the ambient chamber and other parts exposed to the ambient rinsed to prevent salt crystals and corrosion from forming which can destroy the exposed part of the piston chamber ID. As mentioned above, don't press the purge button on the second stage as this opens up the demand valve and can let a little water in back that way.